top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Time to Buckle Down

Thus it has began, the countdown of my final weeks here in London (very bittersweet *sigh*). Being in such an exciting city has been the opportunity of a lifetime, however now I must focus on my studies to finish out strong. This week has involved a lot of time reorganizing and structuring out my final weeks here. But I still have managed to have some fun, there is always so much to do around here. In my FHA class (Fashion History and Artefact) I visited the Imperial War Museum where I got to learn about the British involvement in both of the World Wars. It was intriguing to see a different view of how everything went down (since I have always learned about it from the perspective of the U.S.). I had a free day this week so I also went to an exhibit at the Korean Cultural Centre U.K called Children Shouldn't Play With Dead Things. The exhibit played on this idea on how youth can become obsessed with materialistic items (it was small but a very interesting showcase).

This week was also a new discovery of some hidden gems of London (food gems that is). Out of curiosity I googled Eritrean restaurants in London (in case you didn't know I am 100% Eritrean, born and raised) because I almost wanted some of the injera that I have been missing (don't tell my mother she would never let me forget it haha). So I dragged my friend Liz to try some tradition food from a restaurant called Mosob where they made the whole time a real cultural experience. It very much felt like the home I grew up in back in Minnesota.

This weekend was also St. Patricks Day, now this is not a holiday that is celebrated at all really in my family but since I am in a bigger city I decided to join in the festivities around London. From hanging out in Piccadilly Circus to having Lucky Charms cereal in Camden Town it was probably my most memorable time celebrating this holiday! I dressed up very obnoxious for the occasion and I will probably never wear so much green at once again.

I ended out my week by going to a theatre show, Yamato: The Drummers of Japan came to London on their annual tour of shows around the world and I got a 2nd row seat (which ironically cheaper than a seat in the back - which I understand why after going). The company has been performing for over 20 years and has performed in over 30 countries, and the show was very impressive. However for anyone wanting to go to a drumming show I would recommend sitting a couple rows back - let's just say that my hearing was rocked during that show.

This week has been a calm and enjoyable time, but now it will start to get hectic with the deadlines of all of our assignments. Ready or not here comes the mother load of school work, wish me luck!

Until Next Week,

-Zenobes

bottom of page