top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Kiss Those Teenage Years Goodbye

First week in February, usually a very happy time for me because it means that I am less than 12 days away from my birthday (February 12th). Except I realized I am turning 20, which is basically like that awkward in between age of actually being a full blown adult (almost like being 17 but way worse cuz at least back then you were young). Oh man how life blows by real fast.

I got to explore the Museum of Childhood this week, which is a branch of the V&A (who knew there was such a concept as the Museum of Childhood haha). They traced back what children wore and play with decades back which is pretty awesome. I also saw some toys that I even played with as a child which is beyond scary (didn't think I had lived long enough for anything I have owned to be in a museum).

Then I got to go around UCL (University of College London - I know its a weird name but we will just go with it), where I saw their founder LITERALLY IN A CASE LIKE HIS REMAINS WERE GIVEN TO THE UNIVERSITY WHEN HE DIED SO THE WHOLE BODY IS FROM THE ORIGINAL HUMAN I ALMOST DIED. I think I may be scared for life after seeing that, love class outings. Then after we went to a building of the school where they study zoology which had A BUNCH OF DEAD ANIMALS, BUGS, REPTILES (I almost threw up it was plain disgusting), why must I see multiple dead objects in a row?!?!

After that we went to another museum (which even had a dress decorated in different types of birth control all over it) and to the British Library which is one of the largest in the world. You could pretty much find everything that has been made in the english language in that library.

That same day I headed to the study abroad social held in another college of our school (Central St. Martins - yes another one of the top fashion colleges in the world). On my way there some friends and I stopped by Kings Cross station where we found a historical spot! We found where you can take a picture at the station 9 1/3 quarters (please say you have watched Harry Potter and know what that means). It was so cool they let you choose which houses scarf you want to use in your picture and they even had a store too which was great to see.

Today I got to go back to Camden Town and finally got to eat at the Cereal Killer Cafe which is basically this cafe that you can get funky cereal choices with flavored milk (also coffee, ice coffee, poptarts etc.). The entire cafe looks like something out of a 90s/early 2000s child's bedroom (so basically me as a child - jeez I am getting old). I ordered a cereal combination called "Double Rainbow" (froot loops, fruity pebbles, freeze dried marshmallows, and strawberry milk). To give you the most realistic way of describing what it was like to eat something like that, it was like eating a rainbow (so pretty good). They even had a game system for the WWF (now the WWE which I love following) which I got to play as old wrestling legends.

It's been a pretty great week, I think I am finally starting to get the hang of how to navigate and live in such a busy city like London. This following week will be a little bittersweet considering its the final countdown until I am a full blown adult (yuck). But I can't stop change and life so lets go, BRING ON 20!

-Zenobes

bottom of page